Débâcle

  • Wednesday, April 15, 1992

Au pays de castor

Presented by Productions SuperMusique (PSM).

Besides producing the groups Wondeur Brass, Les Poules and Justine, Productions Super Mémé is also a promoter and adds new projects and artists to its roster with each season.

Au pays de castor is a cycle of eroticized love songs. Written (lyrics & music) by Joane Hétu, these suave and explicit songs are spicy musical foreplays performed by artists who know how to use their tongue... and plant it firmly in their cheek.

Le Club
4171, rue Saint-Denis (angle Rachel Est)
  • Wednesday, April 22, 1992

La fille aux mains coupées

Presented by Productions SuperMusique (PSM).

Here is a previously unheard version of the tragic story, marvelously told by first-rate storyteller Michel Faubert. With musical accompaniment from guitarist André Duchesne and cellist Claude Lamothe, this eventful folk tale is delivered by a trio of artists who know how to keep you on the edge of your seat.

Le Club
4171, rue Saint-Denis (angle Rachel Est)
  • Wednesday, April 29, 1992

Magasin de tissus

Presented by Productions SuperMusique (PSM).

Jean Derome did not choose the title Le Magasin de tissus (The Fabric Store) without thought. In fact, the whole project of this famous improviser/multi-instrumentalist is based on a clothing analogy. His suite of textural pieces is a series of sound sculptures devoid of grace or beauty that will plough through your ears (as a critic once said about Derome’s music). These pieces also draw inspiration from various fabrics: tweed, silk, net, linen, knitted fabric, velvet, fortrel… Dressing up is Function; the kind of clothing is Form; pattern is Score; fabric is Matter; sewing is Method; fashion is Style; elegance is the Goal.

Le Club
4171, rue Saint-Denis (angle Rachel Est)

Participants

  • Jean Derome, flutes, saxophones and a collection of small acoustic instruments
  • Wednesday, May 6, 1992

Ruptures interrompues

Presented by Productions SuperMusique (PSM).

The concert that gave birth to the Parasites duo, with Diane Labrosse and Martin Tétreault. Music made from records, sampled sounds and sound recycling. Improvisation and creation, but also composition, a form of composition invented for vari-speed turntables, Conceptual, contextual composition drawing its resources from trafficking and taking into account the fragile nature of vinyl; generations of snaps, crackles and pops. Composition requiring constant focus and invention from the sound recycler.

Le Club
4171, rue Saint-Denis (angle Rachel Est)

Débâcle

  • Mercredi 15 avril 1992

Au pays de castor

Outre la production des ensembles Wondeur Brass, Les Poules et Justine, Productions Super Mémé agit aussi à titre de diffuseur et intègre de plus en plus à ses saisons régulières de nouveaux projets et de nouveaux artistes.

Au pays de castor est un cycle de chansons d’amour à saveur érotique. Écrites - parole et musique - par Joane Hétu, ces chansons suaves et explicites sont de piquants jeux amoureux et musicaux exécutés par des artistes qui ont la langue sortie et bien pendue…

Le Club
4171, rue Saint-Denis (angle Rachel Est)
  • Mercredi 22 avril 1992

La fille aux mains coupées

Voici une version inédite de cette histoire tragique et merveilleuse racontée par un conteur hors pair, Michel Flaubert. Accompagné par André Duchesne à la guitare et Claude Lamothe au violoncelle, ce conte traditionnel plein de rebondissements est livré ici par un trio qui sait comment tenir son public en haleine.

Le Club
4171, rue Saint-Denis (angle Rachel Est)
  • Mercredi 29 avril 1992

Magasin de tissus

Le Magasin de tissus de Jean Derome porte bien son nom, puisque toute la démarche de ce fameux improvisateur/multi-instrumentiste baigne ici dans l’analogie vestimentaire. En effet, sa série de pièces texturales est autant de sculptures sonores sans grâce ni beauté qui labourent les tympans (comme le disait un critique de l’époque concernant la musique de Derome). Ces pièces sont aussi inspirées des divers tissus: le tweed, la soie, le filet, le lin, le tricot, le velours, la fortrelle… Vêtir, c’est la fonction; le type de vêtement, c’est la forme; le patron, c’est la partition; le tissu, la matière; la couture, la méthode; la mode, le style; l’élégance, le but.

Le Club
4171, rue Saint-Denis (angle Rachel Est)

Participants

  • Jean Derome, flûtes, saxophones et une collection de petits instruments acoustiques
  • Mercredi 6 mai 1992

Ruptures interrompues

Spectacle-naissance du duo Parasites avec Diane Labrosse et Martin Tétreault. Musique faite à partir de disques, de sons échantillonnés et de recyclage sonore. Improvisation et création… mais écriture aussi, écriture inventée pour tourne disques à des vitesses variables. Une écriture conceptuelle, contextuelle qui puise ses ressources dans le trafficage. Une écriture qui tient compte de la fragilité du vinyle aussi; des générations de crics, de cracs et de pop corn. Une écriture qui exige du recycleur sonore une présence et une inventivité de chaque instant.

Le Club
4171, rue Saint-Denis (angle Rachel Est)