Ensemble SuperMusique @ Tenor

Tenor 2018
  • Saturday, May 26, 2018
    8:30 pm
Black Box Dance Studio – Département de danse contemporaine – Université Concordia
1450, rue Guy, 7e étage #7.265
métro Guy-Concordia
4th International Conference on Technologies of Notation and Representation

Since 2015, the TENOR conferences have established the growing relevance of emergent technologies of notation and representation for a wide range of musical practices. They offer a lively forum for current research into situational scores, software, hardware, performance practices and theories of music notation and representation.

Through its participation at TENOR, Ensemble SuperMusique, proficient in the use of graphic scores for years, ushers in new tools by equipping its musicians with iPads, replacing traditional paper scores. The works, composed in the form of films or animated graphics, are thus projected before each musician as well as on a screen, visible to the public. The devices are all connected to a network in order to ensure a perfect synchronization between the musicians, who each play a distinct part.

The Australian composer Cat Hope has composed a new work for the occasion, using the program Decibel ScorePlayer — a program she developed alongside members of her ensemble Decibel (Australia). ESM will also present two compositions — chosen from the conference’s call for scores — by emerging composers Ciaran Fram (Australia) and Marta Tiesenga (USA), and revisit works by its directors Joane Hétu and Danielle Palardy Roger.

Programme

Ensemble SuperMusique @ Tenor

Tenor 2018

  • Samedi 26 mai 2018
    20h30
Black Box dance studio — Département de danse contemporaine — Université Concordia
1450, rue Guy, 7e étage #7.265
4th International Conference on Technologies of Notation and Representation

Depuis 2015, les conférences TENOR ont établi la pertinence grandissante des technologies émergentes de notation et de représentation pour un large éventail de pratiques musicales. Elles offrent un forum actif pour la recherche actuelle sur les partitions situationnelles, les logiciels, les hardwares, les pratiques de performance et les théories de la notation et de la représentation musicales.

Dans le cadre de sa participation à TENOR, l’Ensemble SuperMusique, adepte des partitions graphiques depuis longtemps, s’approprie de nouveaux outils en équipant ses musiciens de iPad pour remplacer les traditionnelles partitions de papier. Les œuvres, composées sous forme de films ou de graphiques animés, sont ainsi projetées devant chaque musicien et également sur grand écran pour le public. Les appareils sont branchés en réseaux afin d’assurer une parfaite synchronisation des musiciens, qui jouent des parties distinctes.

La compositrice australienne Cat Hope nous a composé une nouvelle œuvre pour l’occasion, à l’aide du logiciel Decibel ScorePlayer, qu’elle a elle-même développé avec les membres de son ensemble Decibel (Australie). L’ESM présente également deux compositions — choisies parmi l’appel d’œuvre de la conférence — des jeunes compositeurs Ciaran Frame (Australie) et Marta Tiesenga (États-Unis), et reprend des versions revisitées d’œuvres de ses directrices Joane Hétu et Danielle Palardy Roger.