Jean Derome et les Dangereux Zhoms — Balkans 2001

A Balkanese tour for Jean Derome et les Dangereux Zhoms. Croatia, Slovenia, Serbia. Also on this tour, Diane Labrosse will take part to an evening of improvised music with The Dangereux Zhoms for a film in Lublana, in addition to performing in duo with Pierre Tanguay. The Tanguay/Labrosse concerts in Lublana and Belgrade gave birth to the project La musique de mon disque.

Music by Jean Derome

Les Dangereux Zhoms (could be translated as “The Dangerous Men”) is saxophonist Jean Derome’s most cherished vehicle for his jazz compositions. The band has been together since 1993 and now lives in symbiosis with its leader’s writing. The music blends some standard be-bop elements to rock, new jazz and cut-and-paste. Fun constitutes a key aspect of the musical endeavor and Derome’s scores often call for talking, acting and other stage antics from the musicians. His precise writing includes pockets of free improvisation and alternates between in-your-face stamina and more emotional passages.

Although very actual in their approach, Les Dangereux Zhoms never cross into abstract music: even the more difficult pieces remain anchored in a new jazz tradition Derome helped establish, seasoned with that special Montréal sense of humor and self-mockery. He plays with harmony as if it were a schoolyard game, constantly pushing the piece inside and outside the key. That and his clever use of polyrhythms provide the listener with a seemingly common frame, while keeping him guessing all the way through: accessibility does not mean sacrificing on excitement.

  • Monday May 7, 2001

Concert

Zagreb
  • Tuesday May 8, 2001

Concert

Metel Kova
Ljubljana
  • Tuesday May 8, 2001

Concert

Gromki
Strossmayerjeva ulica 20 — Ljubljana
  • Wednesday May 9, 2001

Concert

Slovenska Kinoteca
Miklošičeva cesta 28 — Ljubljana
  • Thursday May 10, 2001

Concert

Satchmo
Maribor
  • Friday May 11, 2001

Concert

Belgrade
  • Saturday May 12, 2001

Concert

Novi Sad

Jean Derome et les Dangereux Zhoms — Balkans 2001

Tournée de concerts de Jean Derome et les Dangereux Zhoms dans les Balkans. Croatie, Slovénie, Serbie. Diane Labrosse, aussi du voyage, participera à une soirée de musique improvisée pour un film à Lubiana, avec les Dangereux Zhoms, en plus de jouer en duo avec Pierre Tanguay. Les concerts Tanguay-Labrosse à Lubiana et Belgrade marquent la naissance du projet La musique de mon disque.

Musique de Jean Derome

Au sein des nombreux projets de Jean Derome, Les Dangereux Zhoms occupent une place privilégiée: il s’agit de son véhicule favori pour ses compositions jazzées. Le groupe existe depuis 1993 et vit en symbiose avec les compositions de son directeur. On retrouve dans sa musique des éléments courants du be-bop aussi bien que du rock, du jazz actuel ou des techniques «couper-coller». Le divertissement représente un des éléments-clé de la musique de Derome, et son écriture pointue laisse place à des périodes d’improvisation libre en alternance avec des passages énergiques et des moments empreints d’émotion.

Malgré leur approche très actuelle, les Dangereux Zhoms ne tombent jamais dans la musique abstraite. Même les pièces les moins accessibles restent ancrées dans une tradition du jazz actuel que Derome a lui-même contribué à établir, en plus d’être assaisonnées d’un sens de l’humour et de l’auto-dérision typiquement montréalais. Derome manipule les règles de l’harmonie comme s’il s’agissait d’un jeu de cour d’école, repoussant constamment ses pièces d’un côté et de l’autre de la barrière tonale. Grâce à cette approche, ainsi qu’à l’utilisation intelligente de structures polyrythmiques, l’auditeur a toujours l’impression de se trouver en terrain connu, même s’il ne peut que chercher à deviner où la pièce le portera ensuite.

  • lundi 7 mai 2001
Zagreb (Croatie)
  • mardi 8 mai 2001
Metel Kova
Ljubljana (Slovénie)
  • mardi 8 mai 2001
Gromki
Strossmayerjeva ulica 20 – Ljubljana (Slovénie)
  • mercredi 9 mai 2001
Slovenska Kinoteca
Miklošičeva cesta 28 – Ljubljana (Slovénie)
  • jeudi 10 mai 2001
Satchmo
Maribor (Slovénie)
  • vendredi 11 mai 2001
Belgrade (Serbie)
  • samedi 12 mai 2001
Novi Sad (Serbie)
  • dimanche 13 mai 2001
Belgrade (Serbie)
  • lundi 14 mai 2001
KSET
Unska ul. 3 – Zagreb (Croatie)